Pumpkin Pie Spice Syrup for Lattes!

I love Starbucks PSL (pumpkin spice latte) but I wanted to be able to make it at home. So I perused the internet looking for a tried and true recipe. I did find a few good ones!

http://www.jasonandshawnda.com/foodiebride/archives/8295

http://alskamom.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/homemade-pumpkin-spice-latte-syrup/

Both really good recipes, but even when I strained them I still have left over ‘sludge’ in the bottom of my mug. And I think it needed a bit more of something.So here are two different recipes I’ve come up with.

I never ever follow recipes. I just kinda throw things in without measuring and taste as I go. You can do about any variation of these recipes too make them suit your needs!

A jar of coconut milk and a jar of pumpkin pie spice syrup make morning coffee Oh, So, Good!!

 

 

 

Real Pumpkin Pie Syrup

1 cup Water

1/2-3/4 cup Sugar (the sweeter the better for me!)

2 tbs Brown Sugar

2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

2 tbs canned Pumpkin (refrigerate the leftover pumpkin) [NOT in the can]

Simmer in a saucepan till maple syrup consistency. Let cool and strain into mason jar. Use 2-4 spoonfuls in your coffee or latte. I don’t drink milk so I use a lot of soy milk, but for this recipe Coconut Milk is a MUST!! YUMM!

That one still leaves a little sludge in the mug and I found the only way to get away from that is to use less canned pumpkin. So here is just the syrup recipe.

Pumpkin Spice Syrup

1 cup Water

3/4 cup Sugar

4 tbs Brown Sugar (not packed)

Bring to boil in sauce pan, dissolve sugar. Reduce heat then add pumpkin and spice.

1 tbs Pumpkin (puree, canned)

2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

Over low heat, simmer till syrup consistency, cool and strain into mason jar.

Not having coffee this morning but want that pumpkin taste? Heat up some apple juice or apple cider and add this yummy syrup and a splash of coconut milk. You will be in heaven! Or try these two ideas. . .Enjoy!

White hot chocolate!

http://tidymom.net/2011/pumpkin-spice-white-hot-chocolate/

or a Martini!

http://www.wearenotmartha.com/2010/10/pumpkin-pie-martini/

Leave a Reply

